Announcements

 View Only

MARS/MAS Coffee Chat: The Care and Feeding of Large Artifacts – Corrected Calendar Invite

  • 1.  MARS/MAS Coffee Chat: The Care and Feeding of Large Artifacts – Corrected Calendar Invite

    Posted 9 days ago
      |   view attached

    Apologies for the multiple postings, this post contains the correct info to join the chat. 

    For preservation month, we are partnering with the Museum Archive Section and will be talking about the challenges of caring for large artifacts in your collection.  From moving a jet across the deck of an aircraft carrier, to displaying large equipment outdoors, these artifacts can pose a unique challenge to an archivist. 

    Our discussion will include perspectives from Neil Dahlstrom of the John Deere Archives, which has a diverse collection containing 500 pieces of agricultural, construction, and lawn and garden equipment from 1853 through 2023, and Jennifer Milani from the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum.  Jennifer will talk about her collection of military aircraft as well as the largest artifact in her collection, the Intrepid aircraft carrier, and the unique challenges presented with housing a museum in a historic ship.  

    The coffee chat will be on April 17th (11AM Pacific, 12 PM Mountain, 1 PM Central, 2 PM Eastern)

    Microsoft Teams Need help?

    Join the meeting now

    Meeting ID: 284 528 292 827

    Passcode: XU5TRq


    Dial-in by phone

    +1 806-412-1525,,908128173# United States, Lubbock

    Find a local number

    Phone conference ID: 908 128 173#

    For organizers: 19_meeting_ODhlYjQzZjAtNjgyMy00ZjgyLWI3NzUtMTJiODYyYmMzMzBl@thread.v2&messageId=0&language=en-US" target="_blank" rel="noopener">Meeting options | Reset dial-in PIN

    ________________________________________________________________________________

    A calendar invite is included in the attachment



    ------------------------------
    Amy Mondt
    Associate Director
    Texas Tech University
    Lubbock TX
    ------------------------------