Announcements

 View Only

Coffee Chat: The Care and Feeding of Large Artifacts April 17 1:00 PM Central

  • 1.  Coffee Chat: The Care and Feeding of Large Artifacts April 17 1:00 PM Central

    Posted 9 days ago
      |   view attached

    For preservation month, we will be talking about the challenges of caring for large artifacts in your collection.  From moving a jet across the deck of an aircraft carrier, to displaying large equipment outdoors, these artifacts can pose a unique challenge to an archivist. 

    Our discussion will include perspectives from Neil Dahlstrom of the John Deere Archives, which has a diverse collection containing 500 pieces of agricultural, construction, and lawn and garden equipment from 1853 through 2023, and Jennifer Milani from the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum.  Jennifer will talk about her collection of military aircraft as well as the largest artifact in her collection, the Intrepid aircraft carrier, and the unique challenges presented with housing a museum in a historic ship.  

    The coffee chat will be on April 17th (11AM Pacific, 12 PM Mountain, 1 PM Central, 2 PM Eastern)

    A calendar invite is included in the attachment



    ------------------------------
    Amy Mondt
    Associate Director
    Texas Tech University
    Lubbock TX
    ------------------------------