Announcements

 View Only

Brown Bag Discussion Tomorrow! (6/15) - Divisive Concepts Legislation

  • 1.  Brown Bag Discussion Tomorrow! (6/15) - Divisive Concepts Legislation

    Posted 18 days ago

    Censorship by any other Name: Adverse Legislation in the States

    An unprecedented number of censorship bills have been introduced in state legislatures in 2022. What is the trajectory of these bills; how might they impact archival collections and the professionals who make them accessible for a wide range of audiences; and what is being done to prevent their passage or mitigate their impact?

    Megan Murray Cusick, Deputy Director for State Advocacy at the American Library Association, will join RAAC for a brown bag lunch session to discuss legislation and ALA's work in this area. Megan leads the state and local advocacy efforts for ALA's Public Policy and Advocacy office, working closely with other ALA offices and ALA's state chapters.

    Please share this announcement with your communities and join us tomorrow, June 15th at noon Central time (1pm EST, 11am MST, 10am PST) for a discussion on this important topic for archives and libraries.  No need to register, and attendance is free: https://meet.google.com/puo-xhjq-nkf

    In preparation for the discussion, here are some readings provided by the discussion leader:

    An overview that hits the main areas of focus for the censors:
     
    And one that highlights the shift in divisive concept bills from k-12 to higher education. (It also links to a tracker that contains updated information.) https://pen.org/in-higher-education-new-educational-gag-orders/

    *It is unknown at the time of this posting if the event will be recorded, but we will update members accordingly - thanks!

    All the best, 
    Cathy


    ------------------------------
    Cathy Miller
    RAAC Steering Committee member

    ------------------------------