Announcements

REMINDER: Webinar: Quo vadis, EAD? Current use cases of EAD-from single institutions to aggregators and providers of archival management systems

  • 1.  REMINDER: Webinar: Quo vadis, EAD? Current use cases of EAD-from single institutions to aggregators and providers of archival management systems

    Posted 14 days ago

    The Society of American Archivists' (SAA) Technical Subcommittee on Encoded Archival Standards (TS-EAS), in collaboration with the Encoded Archival Standards Section Steering Committee, will be hosting a June webinar as part of the upcoming major revision of the Encoded Archival Description (EAD). 


    EAD 2002 and EAD3 are currently used by a global community, and TS-EAS aims to get a better understanding of the landscape of EAD use and the needs and requirements of the EAD community with regard to a new version in future. We will be hosting two panel sessions to accommodate an international audience and to cover a variety of use cases: from the use of EAD as an export format to its use as the basis for online finding aids, from its implementation at single institutions to its aggregation on regional, national, and international levels, from using EAD in its native XML to having it running "in the background" of an archival collection management system. 


    Join us and our presenters at one-or both-of the following events:


    • Session 1: June 2, 6am GMT (London 7am, Brussels 8am, New Delhi 11.30am, Beijing 2pm, Melbourne 4pm)
      • Ana Maria López Cuadrado, Archivo Histórico Nacional, Spain;
        Ana will talk about the national archives aggregator PARES and their change from EAD 2002 to EAD3;
      • Jane Stevenson, Jisc, United Kingdom;
        Jane will present the national aggregator Archives Hub and their use of EAD 2002, and she will explain why they are currently not looking at EAD3 in the context of their future plans
      • Christine di Bella, ArchivesSpace;
        Christine will look at EAD from the perspective of developing and maintaining an archival collection management system with a global user base.
      • Register here for this webinar: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJcqceCgqDwuH9yXiC5IKVmO4FyBTyZaDcat 

    • Session 2: June 4, 3pm GMT (Los Angeles 8am, New York 11am, Buenos Aires 12pm, London 4pm, Brussels 5pm)
      • Lindsey Loeper, University of Maryland, Baltimore County;
        Lindsey will present the UMBC's use of EAD3 in the connection with PastPerfect, for which they created their own export;
      • Ada Negraru, Southern Methodist University, Dallas;
        Ada will talk about their use of EAD 2002 and why it has served their purposes well;
      • Greg Wiedeman, University at Albany, State University of New York;
        Greg will look at their implementation of EAD 2002 and will share his thoughts about how an abstract data model could be more helpful for transmission across systems.
      • Register here for this webinar: https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0pdemtpz4oE9ddm3wOJwdbCrzDI-h4n5QU

    Both sessions will also be recorded and posted to SAA's YouTube channel.





    ------------------------------
    Glenn Gardner
    Digital Projects Coordinator
    Library of Congress
    Greenbelt MD
    ------------------------------