Announcements

 View Only

Info session (Thursday, October 6th): "Building a National Finding Aid Network" project update

  • 1.  Info session (Thursday, October 6th): "Building a National Finding Aid Network" project update

    Posted 11 days ago

    Join us for an update on "Building a National Finding Aid Network" (NAFAN), a 2.5-year IMLS-funded research and demonstration project (2020-2023). NAFAN is rooted in the goal of providing inclusive, comprehensive, and persistent access to finding aids by laying the foundation for a national network available to a broad and diverse set of contributors and researchers. This information session will provide an early review of some of the key project deliverables, including:

    • Findings regarding:
      • The distinct needs of researchers and cultural heritage institutions in relation to finding aid aggregation, as identified by OCLC Research.
      • How a national-level finding aid network might offer services, support, and advocacy to community-based archives, surfaced in a two-day workshop hosted by Shift Collective in December 2021, "Increasing National Discovery of Archives."
    • A data dashboard providing a summary of EAD finding aid data and usage patterns, represented within US-based regional/state finding aid aggregations as of November 2020-January 2021.
    • A high-level functional and design model envisioned for a national-level finding aid network.

    Event and registration details

    When: Thursday, October 6, 2022

    Time: 11:00am-12:00pm Pacific / 12:00-1:00pm Mountain / 1:00-2:00pm Central / 2:00-3:00pm Eastern

    Registration: https://ucop.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0pdO6rqz4tGNb6SLvUy2Q7EsdrxblrDEI4


    This Zoom webinar will be recorded and made available via the NAFAN project website.


    About NAFAN

    The NAFAN project is coordinated by the California Digital Library (CDL), in collaboration with Chain Bridge Group, OCLC, Shift Collective, and the University of Virginia Library (UVA), and in close partnership with statewide/regional finding aid aggregators and LYRASIS (ArchivesSpace technical consultation). NAFAN is supported by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, through grant LG-246349-OLS-20. The IMLS is the primary source of federal support for the nation's libraries and museums. To learn more, visit www.imls.gov.

    ------------------------------
    Adrian Turner
    Senior Product Manager
    California Digital Library
    (510) 287-3390
    adrian.turner@ucop.edu
    Pronouns: he/him
    https://cdlib.org/
    ------------------------------