Announcements

SAA Form: Reopening Archives Safely -- Thursday, June 3

  • 1.  SAA Form: Reopening Archives Safely -- Thursday, June 3

    Posted Jun 01, 2021 04:39 PM

    Now that vaccinations are available to more people and the CDC has relaxed restrictions, more and more archives and libraries are planning to reopen. For many of us who have shifted to work from home this past year, there are questions and concerns of how to reopen safely, including what expectations and boundaries we can implement for our patrons and colleagues. Join SAA Council Member Melissa Gonzales for a lightning round forum where Sharon Streams will discuss the REALM project, Lucie Tredennick will speak to potential legal issues (not offer advice), and our archival management panelists will discuss their reopening experiences for strategizing a safe return to work and public service that will hopefully decrease the anxiety that reopening creates.

    This event is free and open to all. This session will be recorded and made available soon after the live event.

    Thursday, June 3
    4:00 pm EST / 3:00 pm CST / 1:00 pm PST / 10:00 am HST

    RSVP Here

    RSVP required for Zoom security.

    Speakers:

    Chrystal Carpenter, Coordinator of University Archives & Special Collections, Elon University
    Aliqae Geraci, Director, Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs, Wayne State University
    Samuel Smallidge, Archive Manager, Converse
    Sharon Streams, REALM Project Director, OCLC
    Lucie Tredennick, Assistant General Counsel, Houston Community College

     

    The SAA Code of Conduct governs expectations of appropriate conduct for this and all SAA events.



    ------------------------------
    SAA Headquarters
    Society of American Archivists
    Chicago IL
    saahq@archivists.org
    ------------------------------